Getting started with STM32

Jul. 7, 2024 Getting started with STM32

The Electronics Workshop of university ordered some Nucleo-32 and Nucleo-64 boards, and I borrowed one right away. Have been wanting to move away from Arduino for quite some time. The abstractions have helped me get things running quickly so far - but now I think it’s time I dive deeper into embedded and check out some of the more popular industrial solutions.

Got started with STM32 Cube IDE and tried to generate a 100 kHz PWM wave at 50% duty cycle. Had to set up the clockspeed of the hardware timer accordingly. Having an Oscilloscope at home came really handy, I could make changes in the code and see the behavior of the PWM waveform changing as soon as I hit upload.

The learning curve is still pretty steep though. But I’m looking forward to do more stuff with STM32.