Shadowing

Aug. 7, 2023 Shadowing

A classmate of mine is designing an engine as his project, and kindly let me shadow him as I watched him design a part in Fusion 360.

The only reason why I learnt Fusion 360 in the first place was that I needed to 3D print stuff, so my workflow is based on additive manufacturing as that’s how 3D printers work.

But he has extensive experience with machining and since this part will actually be milled in CNC machines, he’s designing the part just the way it would be machined (subtractive manufacturing). It’s been a really good learning experience so far. I’m also learning how to read blueprints alongside.

Looking forward to have more sessions like this.

Designing stuff is addictive. Something about bringing things from the 3D environment to reality and being able to actually hold it gets me so excited.