Klipperized the Ender 5 Plus

May. 18, 2024 Klipperized the Ender 5 Plus

I fixed the Ender 5 Plus of university and got it running on its stock firmware last year. But it was so noisy that I couldn’t print whenever a meeting was going on there. So Professor ordered a Bigtreetech SKR MINI E3 V3 board along with a TFT35 display which had better stepper motor drivers and were supposed to make the printer quieter. However, I couldn’t upgrade it right away at that time due to semester finals, and then I just procrastinated a lot. Not to mention, my experience with compiling Marlin or Klipper firmware was nonexistant at that time so I wasn’t sure where to start from.

A few days ago I finally finished wiring up the new controller board (which was pretty simple, actually) and flashed Klipper firmware on it. Minor issues aside, took me maybe two hours - tops. Mostly because I was already familar with the process as I had flashed Klipper on my SV06 before.

Anyway, it’s running much, much quieter now. Let’s see what’s next.