Enclosure design

Apr. 14, 2023 Enclosure design

Finally got some extra time on the weekend. Went to lab and started designing an enclosure for the gesture sensor macro controller I’ve been wanting to make.

The design came out a little bit awkward. I tried to make it aesthetic enough to double as a desk decor as well, but well - it definitely has room for improvement.

The thing is, I find designing for technical stuff easy, there’s a clearly definable goal to be achieved/work towards. But when I’m designing something solely for the purpose of aesthetic, I need to rely on my imagination instead of logic.

While I’m certain that my imagination is fairly well, I just don’t have enough practice with CAD to channel my imagination into 3D models while keeping the constraints of 3D printing at the same time.

But I’ll get there, eventually. Started the print and came back to home. Will collect the print tomorrow and see if everything fits.