Delaying the Voron build

May. 6, 2024 Delaying the Voron build

I severely underestimated how long it would take to build the Voron. Was expecting to wrap it up within 2-3 days of 10h sessions - but yeah, no, not happening. So I’ve decided to take my sweet time with it, and enjoy the building process. And I will start by reprinting most of the parts. :)

In the beginning, I had a lot of difficulties trying to print ABS with the Sovol SV06, even inside an enclosure. When I finally nailed my technique down, I was too impatient to spend any more time on tuning the filament profile and jumped straight into printing the parts. As a result, pretty much everything I printed is dimensionally accurate but look terrible superficially, with overextruded top layers and poorly cooled overhangs. I’ve gotta tune it, starting with extrusion multiplier and pressure linear advance.

I will print them again. And, I will also be doing some essential mods on the Voron which would be harder to do down the road (like the Kirigami bed) for example. Since I’ve already made my peace with this taking a few months to complete anyway, might as well as…you know.

Going through options for the toolhead right now. I will be going with a direct drive one - but haven’t decided on any yet. A lot of things to consider. Mini Stealthburner looks good though.

That’s it for now. Golden Week’s over, classes have started again. Might try to do input shaping with accelerometer on the SV06 this evening, if I get time.