Back again, ruined an OLED

Jun. 25, 2023 Back again, ruined an OLED

After almost a month of doing pretty much nothing, I’m back. And on my first day, I ruined an OLED display thinking it was PMOLED lol.

I watched a video on YouTube where they got some OLED display modules from AliExpress which could be removed from the circuit. So I wondered if the generic OLED display modules were actually transparent too. Ordered two modules from Amazon, used a heat gun to melt the glue of one of the displays and turned out it had a mirror-like material on the other side (polarizer?). Not transparent at all. However, the heat did leave some nasty marks on the screens making it mostly unusable.

Well, at least I have a spare module now. And the broken one - maybe it can be used in some Cyberpunk-themed project.