🔥 Quitting FPV

Jul. 25, 2023 🔥 Quitting FPV

So after the AIO board started working, I got excited and assembled the tinywhoop again. Then I put one of the batteries (from GNB) on charge. And then it caught fire after awhile.

And I was being an idiot. I left some 4S batteries on the same rack and one of them got its side burned a little bit. The 1S themselves catching fire was bad enough, but if just one of the 4S caught fire it would’ve got much much worse.

I can recall charging 4S batteries (bigger ones) in my room at dorm a few months ago, before I moved my charging setup to lab where the metal rack is a safer place to charge at. But if the fire happened in my room where I literally had batteries lying on the floor, it could’ve been really ugly. I hate to learn this the hard way but glad that no one/nothing got hurt. Except for both of the 1S batteries and 1 4S (there’s no other damage apart from the burned side but I’m not risking anything).

But this is it for me. I’d been frustrated with flying FPV multicopters for quite some time, and this fire is the last nail in the coffin. I will still enjoy Joshua Bardwell’s videos and watching others’ builds, but it’s not possible for me to pursue this hobby anymore. Sayonara.

P.S - Don’t be like me and use subpar equipment. Stay away from cheap batteries like GNB. Go for Tattu. Charge on a metal rack.